Lighter Grilled Ham and Double Cheese

Lighter Grilled Ham and Double Cheese | Mimi's Fit Foods

Ham and cheese . . . one of those combinations that are just meant to go together on a sandwich.  Here is a version that comes in with much less calories and fat than a typical grilled Ham and Cheese sandwich.  I used a thick slice of lean ham, and then I used Sargento’s Ultra Thin sliced cheeses.  You can play around with the cheese flavors, but I used my two favorites that I love with ham . . . Swiss and Sharp Cheddar.

I added Dijon mustard to my sandwich because I love the grown-up taste that it offers to the sandwich.  You get a nice tang and I think it compliments the ham beautifully.  That being said, it can totally be optional.  If you’re not a mustard fan, or if you’re making sammies for little kiddos, feel free to leave it off.

I just grilled mine in a nonstick sautĂ© pan with a lid on it (to trap in the heat so that the cheese would melt and the ham would warm through).  There are a couple of other easy ways to grill/toast your sandwich and if I was going to make several sandwiches at once, I would probably use another method.  You can quickly toast both sides of your sandwiches on the stovetop in a nonstick skillet and then put them on a baking tray, throw them in a 350-degree oven and let them warm through in there (about 5 minutes).  Another option would be to use a toaster oven if you have one.  And lastly, you can use a George Foreman grill or a panini grill to get the job done.

Any way you look this, the sandwiches come together in just a few minutes and they taste great, are nice and gooey, and you get the satisfaction of having a classic comfort food without all the extra calories and fat! 

[yumprint-recipe id=’9′]

Leave a Reply

