FIt Mexican Stack

Fit Mexican Stack || Mimi's Fit Foods

OMG!  I seriously cannot believe that I haven’t blogged this yet.   I mean, I kind of can.  Mostly because whenever I make it we NEVER want to wait for me to snap photos of it before we eat.  Lucky for you all, the hubby and the baby were outside when this came out of the oven so I hurried as fast as I could to snap some photos before we gobbled it up.

Fit Mexican Stack | Mimi's Fit Foods

I’ve been making it for years.  It’s a family favorite.  It’s got all those classic Mexican flavors, but it’s oh-so-fun with the way it is layered and the layers definitely add some great texture.  I adapted the recipe from America’s Test Kitchen. That should already sell you on the deliciousness, but let me just give you a few highlights.  Pretoasting the tortillas makes this dish a winner.  When they’ve been crisped up, they not only taste great, but they provide the necessary structure for the stack.  The toasted tortillas also help us to avoid that raw flavor and gummy texture that soggy tortillas can leave behind  So, the toasted tortillas are definitely a huge highlight.  Another huge highlight is the great amount of  filling you find between layers.  You will NOT feel short-changed here, folks. And, if I can, I must also highlight the mashed black beans.  I simply love them!

Fit Mexican Stack - Mimi's Fit Foods

So, what I’m saying here is that you should really make this because I’m pretty sure you’re going to find that it will become one of your family favorites too.  It’s a winner, hands down!

[yumprint-recipe id=’18’] 

Leave a Reply

